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Recordkeeping Requirements for Alaska Employers 
 
This fact sheet provides a summary of Alaska’s recordkeeping statutes and regulations,  
AS 23.05.080 Employer’s Records; AS 23.10.100 Employer to Keep Records; and  
8 AAC 15.900 Recordkeeping. 
 
Highlights: The Alaska Wage and Hour Act sets minimum wage, overtime pay and 
recordkeeping standards for employment subject to its provisions. Unless exempt, covered 
employees must be paid at least the minimum wage and not less than one and one-half times 
their regular rates of pay for overtime hours worked.  
 
Posting: Employers must display an official poster -- Summary of the Alaska Wage and Hour 
Act -- outlining the provisions of the Act, available at no cost from local offices of the Alaska 
Wage and Hour Administration, or by calling (907) 269-4900. This poster is also available 
electronically for downloading and printing at www.labor.state.ak.us/lss/forms/sum-wh-act.pdf.  
 
What Records Are Required: Alaska employers are required to keep accurate records for all 
employees they hire. The Act requires no particular form for the records, but does require that 
the records include certain identifying information about the employee and data about the hours 
worked and the wages earned. The law requires this information to be accurate. The following 
basic records must be maintained by the employer for a period of at least three years: 
 

1. Employee's full name and social security number 
2. Employee’s address, including zip code 
3. Employee’s occupation 
4. Employee’s birth date, if younger than 19 
5. Employee’s sex 
6. Beginning and ending dates of the pay period 
7. Total hours employee worked each day 
8. Total hours employee worked each workweek 
9. Basis on which employee's wages are paid (e.g., "$9 per hour", "$440 a week", "piecework")  
10. Employee’s regular rate of pay 
11. Total straight-time and overtime hours employee actually worked in the pay period 
12. Employee’s total daily or weekly straight-time earnings 
13. Employee’s total overtime earnings for the workweek 
14. All additions to or deductions from the employee's wages, to include federal income tax 

deductions, Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA) deductions, Alaska Employment 
Security Act (ESC) deductions, board and lodging costs (if applicable), advances on pay, 
and all other authorized deductions 

15. Total gross and net wages paid each pay period  
16. Date of payment for each pay period  

 

http://www.labor.state.ak.us/lss/forms/sum-wh-act.pdf
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How Long Records Should Be Retained: Each employer shall preserve for at least three years 
payroll records, collective bargaining agreements, sales and purchase records. Records on which 
wage computations are based should be retained for two years, i.e., timecards and piece work 
tickets, wage rate tables, work and time schedules, and records of additions to or deductions from 
wages. These records must be open for inspection by the Department’s representatives, who may 
ask the employer to make extensions, computations, or transcriptions.  The records may be kept 
at the place of employment, or in a central records office located within the State of Alaska.  The 
employer must maintain an accurate record of the beginning and ending times of employees’ 
breaks lasting 20 minutes or longer for which the employees will not be compensated. 
 
What About Timekeeping: Employers may use any timekeeping method they choose. For 
example, they may use a time clock, have a timekeeper keep track of employee's work hours, or 
tell their workers to write their own times on the records. Any timekeeping plan is acceptable as 
long as it is complete and accurate.  
 
The following is a sample timekeeping format employers may follow, but are not required to do 
so:  
 

DAY  DATE  IN  OUT  TOTAL HOURS WORKED 
Sunday  6/1/08  --------  --------  ------  
Monday  6/2/08  8:00am  12:02pm  

1:00pm  5:03pm  8  
Tuesday  6/3/08  7:57am 11:58am  

1:00pm  5:00pm  8  
Wednesday  6/4/08  8:02am 12:10pm  

1:06pm  5:05pm  8  
Thursday  6/5/08  --------  --------  --------  

Friday  6/6/08  --------  --------  --------  
Saturday  6/7/08  --------  --------  --------  

Total Workweek Hours:  24  
 
 
For more information contact the Wage and Hour office nearest you: 
 
 
Juneau Regional Office Anchorage Regional Office   Fairbanks Regional Office 
1111 W. 8th St., Ste. 302 1251 Muldoon Road, Suite 113  675 7th Ave., Station J-1 
Juneau, AK  99801-1802 Anchorage, AK  99504    Fairbanks, AK  99701 
(907) 465-4842 (907) 269-4900     (907) 451-2886 
Juneau.LSS-WH@alaska.gov Anchorage.LSS-WH@alaska.gov  Fairbanks.LSS@alaska.gov  
 
 

Visit the Alaska Wage and Hour Administration website: 
www.labor.state.ak.us/lss/whhome.htm 

 
 
This publication provides general information and is not to be considered in the same light as 
official statements of position contained in the regulations. 
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