State of Alaska > DOLWD > Labor
Standards & Safety > Wage and Hour Administration
Wage and Hour Administration
Programs administered by Wage and Hour include: Wage Claims; Minimum
Wage and Overtime Enforcement; Child Labor Enforcement; Prevailing Wage
Enforcement; Employment Preference Enforcement; Licensing Employment Agencies;
Construction Contractor Licensing; and Alaska Family Leave Act.
The Wage and Hour Administration provides sole enforcement of several
laws dealing with the payment of wages to workers (wage claims, prevailing
wage, minimum wage and overtime). The agency acts on behalf of workers
to collect unpaid or underpaid monies from employers through a variety
of administrative, quasi-judicial and judicial procedures. The Prevailing
Wage program ensures that all contractors working on public construction
projects pay the same costs for labor, thereby preventing an unfair competitive
advantage based on the use of cheap imported labor. The Construction Contractor
Licensing program protects the public from unlicensed, unbonded contractors,
while protecting properly licensed contractors from unscrupulous and unfair
competition. The agency also oversees the enforcement of child labor laws
to insure that minor workers are not exploited; administers the licensing
of private employment agencies and oversees their operation; enforces
the Alaska Family Leave Act as it applies to public employees; and monitors
the employment of workers on public works projects to ensure that resident
workers get their fair share of employment.
Email - email@example.com
New Alaska Minimum Wage Effective January 1, 2018
Pursuant to Alaska Statute 23.10.065(a), the Alaska minimum wage is to be adjusted annually for inflation using the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for the proceeding January-December calendar year.
The CPI increased 0.4 percent in 2016 and as a result, the Alaska State minimum wage will be increased to $9.84 effective January 1, 2018. The current minimum wage is $9.80 through December 31, 2017.
The Alaska minimum wage applies to all hours worked in a pay period regardless of how the employee is paid: whether by time, piece, commission, or otherwise. All the actual hours worked in the pay period multiplied by the Alaska minimum wage is the very least that an employee can be compensated. However, there are some limited exceptions.
The minimum wage increase applies to all employees in the private sector, whether working in a for-profit, not-for-profit or non-profit business. Tips still do not count toward the minimum wage. Also under Alaska Statute (23.20.065) public school bus driver wages must be compensated not less than twice the current Alaska minimum wage.
Alaska Statute (23.10.055) also requires certain exempt employees to be paid on a salary basis at a rate not less than twice the Alaska minimum wage based on a 40-hour workweek.